Add custom form fields in user profile

<?php
function hack_add_custom_user_profile_fields(){
    global $pagenow;

    # do this only in page user-new.php
    if($pagenow !== 'user-new.php')
        return;

    # do this only if you can
    if(!current_user_can('manage_options'))
        return false;

?>
<table id="table_my_custom_field" style="display:none;">
<!-- My Custom Code { -->
    <tr>
        <th><label for="my_custom_field">My Custom Field</label></th>
        <td><input type="text" name="my_custom_field" id="my_custom_field" /></td>
    </tr>
<!-- } -->
</table>
<script>
jQuery(function($){
    //Move my HTML code below user's role
    $('#table_my_custom_field tr').insertAfter($('#role').parentsUntil('tr').parent());
});
</script>
<?php
}
add_action('admin_footer_text', 'hack_add_custom_user_profile_fields');


function save_custom_user_profile_fields($user_id){
    # again do this only if you can
    if(!current_user_can('manage_options'))
        return false;

    # save my custom field
    update_usermeta($user_id, 'my_custom_field', $_POST['my_custom_field']);
}
add_action('user_register', 'save_custom_user_profile_fields');
Tagged:

Leave a Reply

